Rugby World Cup

All Blacks Rugby World Cup 2023 squad

New Zealand All Blacks Haka - All Blacks Rugby World Cup 2023 squad
(Photo by Kenta Harada/Getty Images)

All Blacks Rugby World Cup 2023 squad – Rugby World Cup 2023 will take place in France from 8 September – 28 October with matches played in nine venues across 10 host cities. The tournament will be the 10th men’s Rugby World Cup and the second to be hosted by France after a memorable event in 2007.

As time continues to tick down to the 2023 Rugby World Cup in September, former All Blacks Steve Devine has named his favored 33-man squad to head to France.

New Zealand are the most successful team in Rugby World Cup history with three titles to their name and they are preparing for this autumn’s tournament with the Rugby Championship.

The team has named a 36-man squad ahead of their opening match against Argentina on 8 July, including seven uncapped players.

The All Blacks became the first nation to win back-to-back Rugby World Cups in 2015. The Kiwis were knocked out in the semi-finals by England in 2019 and had a less-than-spectacular 2022. Ian Foster’s side dropped to their worst-ever World Rugby ranking of fifth last summer following a 26-10 defeat to South Africa in the Rugby Championship.

The All Blacks have never lost a World Cup pool match, can they continue this as they face off with hosts France in 2023?

Check out who made the cut for the All Blacks Rugby World Cup squad below – and see the full list of 2023 Rugby World Cup fixtures here.

All Blacks Steve Devine has named his favored 33-man squad to head to France

New Zealand All Blacks Rugby Championship Training Squad 2023

Forwards: Codie Taylor (Crusaders/Canterbury), Dane Coles (Hurricanes/Wellington), Samisoni Taukei’aho (Chiefs/Waikato), Ethan de Groot (Highlanders/Southland), Fletcher Newell (Crusaders/Canterbury), Nepo Laulala (Blues/Counties Manukau), Ofa Tu’ungafasi (Blues/Northland), Tamaiti Williams (Crusaders/Canterbury), Tyrel Lomax (Hurricanes/Tasman), Tevita Mafile’o (Hurricanes/Bay of Plenty), Brodie Retallick (Chiefs/Hawkes Bay), Josh Lord (Chiefs/Taranaki), Samuel Whitelock (Crusaders/Canterbury), Scott Barrett (Crusaders/Taranaki), Tupou Vaa’i (Chiefs/Taranaki), Ardie Savea (Hurricanes/Wellington), Dalton Papali’i (Blues/Counties Manukau), Luke Jacobson (Chiefs/Waikato), Sam Cane (Chiefs/Bay of Plenty), Samipeni Finau (Chiefs/Waikato), Shannon Frizell (Highlanders/Tasman)

Backs: Aaron Smith (Highlanders/Manawatu), Finlay Christie (Blues/Tasman), Cam Roigard (Hurricanes/Counties Manukau), Beauden Barrett (Blues/Taranaki), Damian McKenzie (Chiefs/Waikato) Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders/Canterbury), Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs/Waikato), Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes/Taranaki), Rieko Ioane (Blues/Auckland), Braydon Ennor (Crusaders/Canterbury), Dallas McLeod (Crusaders/Canterbury), Caleb Clarke (Blues/Auckland), Emoni Narawa (Chiefs/Bay of Plenty), Shaun Stevenson (Chiefs/Waikato), Mark Telea (Blues/North Harbour)

All Blacks Rugby World Cup 2023 Squad

This section on squad selections will be updated with the full Kiwi squad as soon as the first one is officially announced via New Zealand Rugby.

Rugby World Cup 2023 Pool for New Zealand

New Zealand has been drawn in Rugby World Cup Pool A alongside Italy, France, Uruguay, and Namibia.

  • Friday 8 Sept New Zealand vs France (Stade de France, Saint-Denis)
  • Friday 15 Sept New Zealand vs Namibia (Stade de Toulouse, Toulouse)
  • Friday 29 Sept New Zealand vs Italy (Ol Stadium, Lyon)
  • Thursday 5 Oct New Zealand vs Uruguay (Ol Stadium, Lyon)

New Zealand’s Path to World Cup knock-outs

The knockout stages will follow the same format as previous years, with teams from Pools A and B then Pools C and D meeting in the quarter-finals. So Wales and England could meet in the last eight, for example.

  • QF1 – Winner Pool C vs Runner-up Pool D
  • QF2 – Winner Pool B vs Runner-up Pool A
  • QF3 – Winner Pool D vs Runner-up Pool C
  • QF4 – Winner Pool A vs Runner-up Pool B

Then the semi-finals will be the Winner of QF1 v Winner QF2 and the Winner of QF3 v Winner QF4.

New Zealand Rugby World Cup

All Blacks New Zealand Rugby Introduction

New Zealand needs no introduction. The three-time winners of the Webb Ellis Cup (1987, 2011, 2015) will once again be among the favorites at Rugby World Cup 2023.

The most dominant team in the history of world rugby, New Zealand has forged much of its glorious reputation at the Rugby World Cup. They are known the world over for their haka and, of course, their legendary players: Grant Fox, Andrew Mehrtens, Tana Umaga, Dan Carter, Richie McCaw and the unstoppable Jonah Lomu, the joint top try scorer (15) in Rugby World Cup history, to name just a few.

During the Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan, New Zealand finished an eventual third with a changing of the guard, with Sam Cane, Beauden Barrett, and Brodie Retallick forming the spine of a new-look squad. In the land of the long white cloud, all eyes are now on the next edition, where New Zealand will face Italy, hosts France, Uruguay, and Namibia.

“Having France in our pool is going to be special,” said head coach Ian Foster after the draw. Will the All Blacks, who have never lost a pool match, continue their impressive streak in 2023?

Written by
Daily Rugby

Check out the latest Rugby news, results, and scores for all the major leagues, international fixtures, and Rugby World Cup from Daily Rugby.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Argentina vs New Zealand: 2023 Rugby World Cup kick-off time, live stream, venue, news

Argentina vs New Zealand All Blacks takes place today Friday, October 20,...

Watch Rugby World Cup 2023 Live Stream: Don’t Miss the Action!

The Rugby World Cup is one of the most exciting and highly...

Rugby World Cup 2023: Schedule, full fixtures and how to watch on TV

The 2023 Rugby World Cup is shaping up as a particularly intriguing...

Watch Rugby World Cup 2023 Live Stream Online

For those hoping to watch the Rugby World Cup 2023 Live Stream...