The Rugby Championship

The Rugby Championship 2023 Fixtures

the rugby championship

Rugby Championship 2023 schedule, dates, and times

8th July

  • 4.05 pm – South Africa vs Australia
  • 8.10 pm – Argentina vs New Zealand

15th July

  • 8.05 am – New Zealand vs South Africa
  • 10.45 am – Australia vs Argentina

29th July

  • 10.45 am – Australia vs New Zealand
  • 4.05 pm – South Africa vs Argentina

 5th August

  • 3.35 am – New Zealand vs Australia
  • 11.10 pm – Argentina vs South Africa

(All times BST)


The Rugby Championship is an annual rugby union competition, contested by the 4 sides consistently ranked highest in the Southern Hemisphere: Argentina, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. The tournament is often likened to a Southern Hemisphere Six Nations, due to the stature of the event, and the myriad rivalries which characterize the fixtures, however, the formats of the 2 competitions are slightly different.

The first Rugby Championship took place in 1996, with New Zealand coming out on top thanks to an impressive 100% record across their 4 matches. Then known as the Tri-Nations Series, the tournament later changed its name following the inclusion of Argentina in 2012. The tournament is still known by slightly different names in each participatory nation, due to sponsorship reasons. Since their first win in 1996, New Zealand has gone on to win the Rugby Championship (or Tri Nations) trophy on more occasions than any other team, but there is rarely a runaway winner: every single match is hard-fought, with grudges and rivalries intensifying year-on-year. Argentina’s recent inclusion has also added to the Rugby Championship’s spectacle, broadening the competition’s audience and testing even more of the Southern Hemisphere’s top players at the highest level.

Due to the inclusion of the 2023 Rugby World Cup in the global rugby calendar, the next Rugby Championship will use an adapted version of the usual format; the 2023 competition will feature 6 matches instead of the usual 12 and will take place between 8-29 July.


New Zealand is the reigning Rugby Championship champion, having pipped South Africa to the 2022 title.

Rugby Championship 2022 Fixtures and Results

Saturday, August 6, 2022 Argentina 26 South Africa 26
Australia 41 New Zealand 10
Saturday, August 13, 2022 Argentina 48 South Africa 23
Australia 17 New Zealand 35
Saturday, August 27, 2022 New Zealand 18 Australia 25
Argentina 25 South Africa 17
Saturday, September 3, 2022 Australia 8 New Zealand 53
South Africa 24 Argentina 3
Thursday, September 15, 2022 Argentina 20 Australia 37
South Africa 36 New Zealand 39
Saturday, September 24, 2022 South Africa 38 New Zealand 40
Argentina 21 Australia 14
Written by
Daily Rugby

Check out the latest Rugby news, results, and scores for all the major leagues, international fixtures, and Rugby World Cup from Daily Rugby.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Watch The Rugby Championship 2023: Live Stream Every Match

How to watch Rugby Championship 2023 live streaming online from anywhere Looking...

Rugby Championship 2023 Set to be Hosted in Australia and New Zealand

The Rugby Championship 2023 is set to be hosted by Australia and...